What happens if a golfer accidentally makes contact when addressing the ball?

a. He/she is assessed a stroke***
b. Everybody applauds
c. He/she loses a turn
d. He/she scores a stroke

2 answers

I don't know the difference between a and d. Either way of saying it, it's a stroke on the scorecard.
Hahaha. I don't think non-professionals (duffers) are too strict about this rule, but in pro-golf ALL the rules apply. When I was trying to learn with a friend, we even "overlooked" really bad shots and said they didn't count, but that was just among friends and we were BAD golfers!