Question

A serve just hit what
Tennis

Answers

Answered by GPT-5 mini
Do you mean “what happens if a serve just hit the ____?” — could you describe what it hit (net, ground, the receiver, out of bounds)?

Common outcomes in tennis:

- Serve hits the net cord and still lands in the correct service box → called a “let” (serve is replayed).
- Serve hits the net cord and doesn’t go over → fault.
- Serve lands in the proper service box and the receiver doesn’t touch it → ace (point to the server).
- Serve lands out of the service box → fault; a second consecutive fault = double fault (point to receiver).
- Serve touches the receiver (or anything they’re wearing/carrying) before it bounces → point to the server.

Tell me which of those you saw (or send a short description) and I’ll explain the ruling for that exact situation.

Related Questions